If you have heard this once, then others may have heard it a hundred times: “I’m fully covered.” Being fully covered has various meanings to different people. In cases like automobile collision that results to personal injury, your coverage is not complete, provided you have uninsured motorist coverage.
In Florida State (on the subject of personal injury claims), drivers are only allowed to carry no-fault insurance or Personal Injury Protection (PIP). Personal Injury Protection is a type of insurance coverage supplied by your insurance provider. It is designed to pay for any lost wages (for few cases) and your own medical costs.
The law in Florida requires coverage that amounts to $10,000 dollars. It simply means, you can drive your car down the road and if a third-party driver hits your own car (causing you some bodily injuries), then you come up with medical bills and permanent injuries in excess of $100,000. Florida is required by law to have all drivers the right coverage from their insurance provider—to pay for the medical cost up to $10,000 (irrespective of who is at fault).
Car and road accidents are traumatic experiences resulting to many questions. Is it secured to drive home? Do I need a policeman? Should I move my car? There are lots of significant choices to make immediately after encountering car accident. Here are a few tips worth considering:
Always be on guard
Regardless of your good skills in driving, car accidents are inevitable. To lessen the burden, you can get the aftermath less stressful by having all the essential papers at hand. It means keeping your car insurance and registration available all the time. Be sure that you’ve got the best coverage as well to get claims suitable for your needs. It’s always smart to determine the type of car insurance you will be paying for.
Shopping for your auto insurance in Florida can be complicated and confusing, but if you do your job you make it less difficult. Regardless of the type of vehicle you drive, it’s essential to have enough protection. Liability coverage protects you and your assets in case you’re at-fault in an accident resulting to damages of another driver’s property or bodily injury. Remember the tips bellow when determining the cost of liability coverage to maintain your auto policy in Florida.
1. It’s a must to have it. If you are a driver in Florida, you’re required to get your liability insurance. You are going to lose your privileges in driving if you are caught driving without it. It means you’re not supposed to leave the driveway if you haven’t obtained this essential coverage. And if you’re not covered, you’re only exposing yourself to some serious risks, liability and even violating the law.
Auto insurance is a common type of insurance but it’s one of the most frequently misunderstood lines of insurance.
It covers the property or medical bills of the opposite party, in case a person is found at fault in an accident. If there’s no coverage like this, anyone can experience life-changing amounts of liability in a flash. This coverage is automatic by having a policy in auto insurance.
While people may enjoy shopping, looking for a Florida car insurance may not be as simple as they perceive it. The process can be more stressful and time-wasting. Therefore, if you’re trying to overcome a wrong decision, plan carefully what to do to come up with a wise decision ahead of time.
Things to know when choosing auto insurance
- Insurance agents can be burdensome at times so you must be ready to know what you need. Stick to it to avoid unnecessary extra charges. Doing it is simple: simply consider your car—its model and year, as well as your driving skills. Come to think of it: Is there any benefit in buying a costly policy for a 15-year-old car you can only drive within your vicinity?
- Once you have clearly settled the kind of car insurance you need, then go to the next—the services that fit your needs. They may not be essential and can even cause you a few more dollars. But conveniently, right services will give you comfort because you know you’ve got the right services.
Florida, together with other 11 US states, observes the laws on “no-fault” car insurance. It simply means that when car accidents cause slight injuries, the injured party can ask for compensation from the insurance company. This can be done instead of presenting a court case against the negligent party believed to be at fault in the incident. When the injury damages go above the required amount, a case can be filed against the other party who is involved in the car accident. However, for minor injuries, it means bringing the issue to the insurance company and seeking for a certain claim.
Within the court, it means working with a lawyer of the insurance company during the compensation hearings. It’s important to handle the case with a legal representative of your own. Since the car insurance company will offer help using an expert person who’s trained in laws of car accident and insurance, you will also look for similar assistance, instead of facing the case alone.
While riding a motorcycle gives you time of road freedom, you would still feel worried about some statistics. Data and information show that fatalities and injuries from riding motorcycles are the causes of all traffic damages and deaths. This is the reason why Florida motorcycle insurance is so important.
Everybody may understand that Florida’s Personal Injury Protection (PIP) Law and No-Fault Law do not apply to motorcycles. But, the law on Financial Responsibility applies to every motorcycle in Florida, as well as to motor vehicles. Therefore, unless you’re independent financially and have filed certificate on financial responsibility, a policy must be in your priority list.
Drivers in the State of Florida who try to get their car insurance will be paying $1,742.00 on average, or nearly 33% greater than the national average. This is in accordance with the current study done by Insure.com on car insurance rates among the different states in the US.
This ranks the Sunshine State from the 5 most-expensive states on new cars that need to be insured. Drivers in Ohio, Idaho and Maine will pay third, less than the car insurance in the national average. By far, motorists from Michigan will pay the most rates in car insurance.
In general, teen auto insurance tends to be more costly than the auto insurance for older drivers. Obviously, teens are more aggressive, stronger and more inexperienced than their parents. Younger drivers are still on their way up the rank to enjoy road adventures and travelling.
Why do teens pay higher insurance rates?
Based on statistics, teens are more likely to face road accidents, commit traffic violations and get traffic tickets compared to mature drivers. Almost all auto insurance companies consider these things in determining the high risk factors when it’s time for teens to get their teen car insurance. Fortunately, they can keep their insurance rates less expensive the way it should be.