The 2015 Occupational Safety & Health Administration (OSHA) reporting requirements took effect on January 1, 1015. OSHA is responsible in assuring that employers provide their employees a safe work area. Regardless of the industry type or size of business, every employer is required by federal law to report work-related fatalities and hospitalizations involving three or more employees to OSHA.
Within 8 hours, every employer is required to report all work-related accidents to OSHA starting January 1, 2015. All employers are also required to report all in-patient hospitalizations, losses of an eye and amputations to OSHA within 24 hours after the incident occurred from the 1st day of January 2015.
Three employer options for (OSHA) reporting requirements
- Get in touch at 678-237-0400 with the Regional OSHA office, Atlanta
- Call the OSHA 24-hour hotline 800-321-OSHA (6742)
- Go to osha.gov/report_online to report online
Florida law requires that all employers call the Florida Division of Workers’ Compensation to report all workplace accidents. Employers can also fax a First Report of Injury form containing the details of the accident.
Additionally, employers with workers’ compensation insurance are obliged to report to their workers’ compensation insurance company all injuries at the workplace. Employees are compelled by law to report work-related injuries within 30 days after the incident to their employer.
Also companies must report to their insurance company any work-related injuries not later than 7 days after injury has occurred. Claims not reported on time to the insurance carrier will result to the assessing of state penalties. It will also hold the company accountable for paying the portion of the benefits given to the employee.
It is the employer’s responsibility to report to its insurance company all employees’ claims, along with other claims for illness or injury with no witnesses. All claims are reviewed by the insurance company to check if workers’ compensation benefits are to be awarded to the employees.
To be your friendly supporter, we have some licensed and dedicated claim adjusters in case of loss. Reporting for a claim can be accomplished in many ways. Get in touch or connect with us for the simple steps in filing a claim.
To learn more about 2015 Occupational Safety & Health Administration (OSHA) reporting requirements, please contact us at DMG Insurance and Financial Services, Inc. (http://www.dmginsurance.com) at 543 N state Road 7, STE 106, Royal Palm Beach EL, 33411, phone 561 422 7071, Fax 561 422 7072.